Australian Awards Scholarships 2014 For 1000 Africans

Australia Awards in Africa (AAA), an initiative of the Australian Government, is a pan-African program of development scholarships and fellowships that offers 1,000 postgraduate scholarships each year to eligible African professionals.

Australia is committed to developing the capacity and leadership skills of Africans to enable them to contribute effectively to development in their home countries. Over the past three years, the number of scholarships available for African professionals has increased ten-fold to a total of 1,000 development awards annually. One-quarter of all Australia’s development scholarships are now directed to Africa.

Scholarship Offered Since: 1980
Scholarship Type: Masters and PhD Scholarships

Who is qualified to apply?
You must not be more than 50 years of age at the date of your application.

You must have at least three (3) years’ relevant post graduate work experience. This work experience must be in a role relevant to your proposed field of study and to your employment organisation type (e.g. public sector applicants should demonstrate public sector work experience, and so on).

Preference will be given to candidates with greater periods of experience.

You possess, as a minimum, a Bachelors degree (or the equivalent) from a recognised Institution of at least 4 years in length with at least a 3rd Class Pass.

Public sector candidates must comply with Government of your country regulations for government employees wishing to apply for scholarships

Public sector, private sector and civil society candidates must provide evidence of completion of the National Youth Service Corp (NYSC) (for Nigerian candidates- visit for country specific requirements) when they apply.

You must not already hold, or be studying for, a Masters degree

You must be willing to make a formal commitment to return to your current employment following completion of the award

Target Group
You are a national of an African country. You are an early or mid-career professional working in the Public Sector, the Private Sector or a Non-Government Organisation (Civil Society) in one of the listed priority fields of study.

You wish to undertake a Mastersdegree in Australia in one of the listed priority fields of study.

You cannot study a Masters of Business Administration.
You have a clear vision for how you will use the knowledge gained through the Masters degree to improve policy, practice or education in the proposed field of study.

Gender Equality: Australia
Awards target equal participation by women and men. Applications from women are strongly encouraged, and mechanisms are in place to support women applicants and Awardees.

Disability Inclusion: Australia Awards aim to ensure that people with a disability are given fair and equal opportunity to compete for and obtain a scholarship.

Applications from people with a disability are strongly encouraged. Mechanisms are in place to support applicants and Awardees requiring specific assistance.

Number of Scholarships: Up to 1,000
Value of Scholarships: This is a Full government sponsored scholarship

Application Ends By
The closing date for Australia Awards Scholarships is 13 December 2013 for Masters level Awards and 17 January 2014 for Africa Fellowships.

Offered annually? Yes

How to Apply
Go to the following link:


  1. Adikalie Kamara says:

    I am Adikalie Kamara in Sierra Leone. I have a Bsc degree in pharmacy. I want to study master in Clinical pharmacy in the Australian award scholarships.

Speak Your Mind